Complete newbie needs 3DSmax 2010 help

zbrubaker

I have a model of a plane I want to create for RealFlight 3.5. I created the model in AutoCAD and exported to the 3DS format and opened in 3DSmax 2010. I have figured out how to link the entities together in the proper hierarchy, but for the life of me I cannot figure out how to hinge things like the ailerons, elevators, landing gear, etc...

I am completely new to 3DS but have been using AutoCAD for over 20 years. It is a completely different way of thinking. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

TIA

Zeke

There is a great tutorial on how to build an aircraft. I don't remember where it is, but if search for it, you should find it

Have you been to the KEmax tutorial section?
http://www.knifeedge.com/KEmax/tutorials.php

Also, noticed you are posting in the G3.5 forum.
If you intend to use your model in G3.5 you must use Max9.
Sorry to say all the .kex file by kemax exporters after Max9 only work with G4 and above. :(

Workaround would be to export as .3ds file and then use the dos based 3ds2kex exporter to create a usable file.

Good Luck...

phrank said:
Have you been to the KEmax tutorial section?
http://www.knifeedge.com/KEmax/tutorials.php

Also, noticed you are posting in the G3.5 forum.
If you intend to use your model in G3.5 you must use Max9.
Sorry to say all the .kex file by kemax exporters after Max9 only work with G4 and above. :(

Workaround would be to export as .3ds file and then use the dos based 3ds2kex exporter to create a usable file.

Good Luck...
That was my intention to export to 3DS and use 3ds2kex utility. I have gone through the tutorials, but they are basic in they only say to create the hinge/pivot point, not how to actually do it.

There is nothing terribly complex about it.
Set up you pivot axis for ailerons, elevator, rudder etc...
Follow the naming conventions and hierarchy.

I believe the tutorials are quite clear.
The included sample aircraft should also be a useful guide.