just purchased basic, couple of questions

neerdowell

Hi guys. I just purchased the Basic version yesterday and have played with it for a day. I am new to RC flying. I've used Microsoft Flight Simulator since my Apple ][ days back in 1981, and I enjoy that sim but have never mastered flying helicopters, I'm afraid. I was hoping I could finally do that with Basic here. But no luck so far. I've seen several sites that try to teach you how to fly a heli, but none have worked for me. Any recommendations?

The two toggle switches on the controller puzzle me. The left one seems to do "idle up 1" I think I read in a thread here. But the right one sometimes turns smoke off and on and sometimes controls gear up/down. What is the deal with that? If the AC has retractable gear, does the right switch control that, otherwise is controls smoke off/on? A manual would certainly help here. I realize there is none, however.

Some planes don't seem to respond to the throttle (the sound does but the planes don't move). And when you move the mouse for these planes, the view changes. What's up with that?

I understand that the different view options (like in Microsoft Flight Simulator) are not present in the Basic version, but it sure would have been nice if they would at least have included the cockpit view. I'd like to be able to actually land these planes on the runway, but without a view from the cockpit I've found that to be virtually impossible so far.

Anyway, a great little sim and I know I'll have some fun with it and it might actually lead to me taking up the real live hobby.

Don Shepherd
Louisville, KY