Newbie to RC plane design in Real Flight

nit

Hi all, I'm just now getting into RC flight and just bought Real Flight 9. I'm part of a club at my university that builds RC planes, and I wanted to see if I can make a model like it in RF. I currently have a Solidworks model of the plane, and I saw that for older versions of RF, you could use an old version of 3DSmax and the KEmax plugin to export the model as a KEX file, and then define the physics in real flight, but I'm not seeing how to do it for RF9. Is this possible, or has this since been removed?

Thanks!

I tried this, and got a message about not being able to locate a texture file. How would I make that?

No, you need a paint program, such as paint, photo shop or gimp2.

No problem, we all started somewhere.

Would I be able to import my .fbx file to gimp and save it as a tga, or do I need to make it manually? I'm not very good at this graphic design stuff as it is :/

Attachments

• TGA-1.jpg
    TGA-1.jpg
    385.4 KB · Views: 47
  • TGA-2.JPG
    TGA-2.JPG
    331.6 KB · Views: 35
  • TGA-3.jpg
    TGA-3.jpg
    390.5 KB · Views: 33
  • TGA-4.jpg
    TGA-4.jpg
    355.4 KB · Views: 30
  • TGA-5.jpg
    TGA-5.jpg
    403.3 KB · Views: 29
In TGA-4 I forgot to mention click the save to disk icon in the top left corner of tool bar in render uv template box.
Also follow these steps.

Attachments

• TGA-6.jpg
    TGA-6.jpg
    367.6 KB · Views: 21
Wow, this is really detailed! Thanks! When I tried that, when I go into the uv editor nothing shows up in the Edit uvws window. In order to do unwrap uvw, I have to select each component individually, as when I select them all, there is not an option in the modifier list to unwrap uvw, and I'm not sure why.