Plan R-F 9.5 Install soon.

SPQR33

I’m new to RC flying and to this forum. I just received the Real Flight 9.5 Sim to practice and gain muscle memory over the winter. I put the DVD into my drive, and before I could navigate to the Manual, my Norton 360 blew a gasket about some “Huersetup.exe” file. And now, though the DVD was ejected, I’m getting hourly Alerts about this unresolved “threat”. I do not have Windows Defender firewall engaged. I’m now prepping my Win-7 Home Premium 4 GHz, 10-Gb RAM machine to do the install: Empty recycle bin, full manual defrag, closing all applications, running a Seagate back-up, and setting a restore point. From reading past posts, I put the “Launcher9.exe” file into both Norton Exclusion lists. And I plan to run “msconfig” to turn off all running programs except Microsoft OS vital stuff. Do I need to do anything more to prevent a failed install?

This is a false positive caused by the way they coded a couple of files so there's no danger of a virus. Normally you need to whitelist (exclude) two files Launcher9.exe and Launcher9Helper.exe so your AntiVirus won't pick them up. If they've been moved to quarantine already tell your antivirus to restore them. But you need to add them to your AntiVirus whitelist (exclude) so it won't pick them up as a virus. Then just install RealFlight again and it should be okay.

There's no need to back up or defrag it's just a false positive. Knifeedge has been working with the AntiVirus people to get them to fix the false positive and Windows Defender is already fixed and working okay on my computer. So hang in there help is coming soon.

From a post I seen from Ryan Douglas (knifeedge) an update is due probably in a few hours, but of course you still need to do that stuff to get RealFlight installed. But the update will fix the false positive (hopefully).