Welcome to G4 Designer's corner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Lauck

Hi all,

My name is Dave Lauck and I'm an artist here at KE.

Over the next couple of days I'll be uploading some examples on how we set up planes, heli's, floats and textures for you. Since we have a little "down time", I'll do the best I can to answer questions on these specific issues. I don't have all the info complete yet, I'm still working on it, so I'll get back to you when it ready.

we'll talk soon,

Dave

backward compatability

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The swap pages aren't ready for G4. We're working on this issue.

For the time being we ask that you exchange .RFX files here in the Designer's Corner.
Dave,
Thanks for having this section, but you will be very busy answering questions, get ready!
Dose the .RFX format file type mean that any aircraft that are generated FROM 4.0 (EA EXPORT) will not be able to be used in 3.5?
Thanks
Crashed

Very good question crashed again.

Along the same lines: We still export using the KEX format? Just once it's in G4 and you export an EA to share it it will be a .RFX file? Am I correct with that?

crashed again said:
Dose the .RFX format file type mean that any aircraft that are generated FROM 4.0 (EA EXPORT) will not be able to be used in 3.5?
Thanks
Crashed

That's correct - RFX files (the G4 equivalent of a G3X file) will _not_ be backwards compatible to ealier versions of RealFlight. Some reasons for that are: some file extensions had to be changed and we had to change the way that our engine uses textures, for example. Not to worry - these changes are transparent to the user from a model making/import/export point of view. Some of these changes were to develop new features and some of them were due to Vista compatibility issues.

pplace said: