101 Course in New Photo Realistic Field Generation

PeterJPayne

Has anyone put together a step by step tutorial on how to produce a quality photo Realistic field in RF7? I am new to this process. The three paragraphs in the manual leave a lot of questions to be answered; What is the best focal length to use on a digital camera? What readily available program is suitable for the stitching process? How do you achieve the 2X1 ratio or 360 deg. X 180 deg. image on a camera format that is base on thirds, 4 X 6?

Thanks for you help.

There is so much information on the topic, that it is beyond the scope of this forum.
Your search keyword for Google and Youtube is "equirectangular panorama"

There you will find videos, and hundreds of sample panoramas that you can import into realflight.

Don't worry too much about focal length, or anything too technical, I've seen some decent quality sim panoramas done with an iphone.
Your goal is to understand the process first, then you can worry about the technicals.

Good Luck.

Thanks to 12oclockhigh and phrank for pointing me in the right direction. I was not using the correct search request.

Thanks again,

Pete

Have you searched the Real Flight 6 designers forum? I remember that there was a lot of discussion on creating these panoramas for RF.

Ive been told that it is both easy and hard. If you do figure it out - how about posting your own DIY Guide to Building Photo Realistic Field if Real Flight for the rest of us?

Has anyone used one of the many Apps for 360 photos for the iPhone? I was under the impression that bigger and more expensive was the only way to go, however, the iPhone with the right App seems to do everthing in seconds that my big SLR takes hours to complete. Sizing the competed image to 2 X 1 may be an issue. The iPhone with the propper application may be the key to everyone being able to produce their own photo realistic air fields.

Thanks for your help.

Pete

yes