Computer-Illiterate RealFlight Noob Experience; Nay, Evolution!

ZaDeer

Total RealFlight newbie here - think I played it a handful of times as a kid at the 'local' hobby store an hour away 20+ years ago, so I consider that newbie territory. Recreational RC enthusiast (2 Champs, 1 Dynam Tigermoth, 1 Miss Geico 36, 1 HPI 5sc flux, various drones), recreational gamer (Halo/COD to Zelda to Forza), know my way around a computer enough to be dangerous but nothing a cursory Google search couldn't bring up for the average user.

Anywho, just bought a copy of RealFlight 9.5S w/ InterlinkDX USB controller via Amazon as I wanted to keep my skills up over the winter. The Dynam Tigermoth is my first 'big' RC plane purchased this past May, so ideally wanted to just stay roughly up to speed with orientation and finger/hand movements as to not crash right off the bat come spring time.

While waiting for it to arrive I started doing some research, jumped on the forum and immediately started to question my purchase. Were my computer specs going to work with the software? Is my HARDWARE going to work with the HARDWARE? Powered USB hubs, directx 9 vs direct x12, the list went on as I'm sure you've all read. Well package arrived late last night, hit download on Steam of both RF 9.5S and the INCLUDED RF Evolution on two different laptops and went to bed. Woke up about an hour ago, got giddy as a schoolgirl once I remembered the previous night's efforts to make a rainy Saturday morning fun and started with 1 of 2 laptops.

Laptop 1: right off the bat every USB port would not recognize the Interlink DX tx. I don't have a powered USB hub so scratch laptop 1 until USB hub arrives.