Graphics Cards Support

Patman

I know that most of you are tired of hearing about graphics cards and the lack of support for many, blah, blah, blah... But...

(Remember that the "butta's live next door to the "Yeahbut's" :D )

G3 supports my Matrox Parhelia (triple Screen), and G4 seems to not support it. Can it / will it be made to support it again? I know all about direct X 9, and floating point technology, yada, yada, yada... and it also seems that G4 is alot more robust with water and all.

I have about $2000 invested in my graphics get-up, as I am an engineer and do LOTS of CAD design, and such, so... Finally biting the bullet to upgrade my graphics arrangement is a tall order to chew on. I gotta get this thing running...

It would be great to know that their was just a small oversight within the programming implementation, and that a fix would be comming out soon... :rolleyes:

Thoughts??

-Patrick

Last edited:
We are interested in getting G4 to run on as many machine configurations as possible. We'll look into this Parhelia but I can't promise a fix at this point. What exactly is the problem?

Error creating Effect PropDisk

History:

With G3 in the past... At first the Parhelia wasn't supported...

A patch was released... Then I would only get that same error only when trying to fly Helicopters, but it would work fine with airplanes.

Another patch was released later...
Everything worked fine.

G4 comes out... I'm not sure if it's trying to start up in Helicopters, or if the error is universal. I just loaded it today for the first time... :eek:

-Patrick

I know why you are seeing this error and I can say that unfortunately there is nothing you can do at this point with the current version of G4. We will investigate this problem as priorities allow us but since that is a DX8 card, I'm afraid it will be pretty low on the list for now.