How to get flaps to work and SAFE

SWAdude

Newbie here and to RF. Just downloaded 9.5.

I am using my DX8e with a doggle and two immediate problems I have.

I can't get my flaps to work. I got a e-flite V1200 for Xmas and would like to fly it on the sim using flaps and out of SAFE mode.

Crazy thing is at times the V1200 gets out of SAFE. I have no idea how or why.

Any tips would always be appreciated. I lean on the tech challenge side so I would also appreciate anything explained to me, the complete idiot. ?

Merry Christmas everyone!

I am having the same issue. I have the Spektrum 2000 dongle and a NX6. I can change safe modes using the keyboard shortcuts but not with my radio. I also can not get my flaps to change.

I'm going to answer your question as best I can, but first some caveats, or assumptions, that you should be aware of: (1) study the controller selection|setup in Rf9.5 (2) study the digital switch | channel selection sections of the DX8e (3) be willing to read the manuals for both Rf9.5, and the Spectrum DX8e. I cannot over emphasize this enough.
---
The software radio of Rf9.5 Sim (hereafter Sim) is setup with the flaps on channel 6, activated by default with a knob. What you need to do is set the DX8e switches and channels to get your SAFE select (B) and your Flaps (D) setup.
I make a model in my DX8G2 (the following should also work in the DX8e, or be close) called Generic Sim (SAFE). I set my SAFE select on AUX1, and set it to switch B. I inhibit my AUX2, and set my AUX3 channel to be AUX2 and put it on switch D. (big picture, details follow)
---
These are the detailed instructions following; first be aware that there are several ways to accomplish the same thing, and my solution is just one way... also you can accomplish an equivalent solution by adjusting the Sim or the DX8e. How you decide to do that is up to you, but is important because you must be consistent.
--- INSTRUCTIONS