Plane flight control variability.

Timbotim

Hi,
I'm a newbie using RF9.5S and I've noticed that some planes fly as they should and others don't.
I've got the physics set on realistic and the Yak-54 performs perfectly. However not so much with the E-flight Apprentice STS 1.5 m which seems to jump around and I can't roll it. The E-flite Timber X 1.2m has the right hand flap in the down position and is unflyable! Why is this?
Lastly, can the planes be trimmed using the trim controls on the Interlink.DX controller?

Cheers, Tim

The Apprentice and the Timber both have SAFE/AS3X available. In SAFE or intermediate modes the Apprentice will not roll. On mine, it does seem too pitch sensitive in the SAFE or Intermediate modes, but that may be just my poorly configured controller (I've been messing with it a lot and it may be way out of calibration).
Yes, planes can be trimmed using the InterlinkDX.
Have you calibrated the controller?

The Apprentice and the Timber both have SAFE/AS3X available. In SAFE or intermediate modes the Apprentice will not roll. On mine, it does seem too pitch sensitive in the SAFE or Intermediate modes, but that may be just my poorly configured controller (I've been messing with it a lot and it may be way out of calibration).
Yes, planes can be trimmed using the InterlinkDX.
Have you calibrated the controller?
Yes. Not sure how to trim though. How do I change the modes?

Here are the common functions assigned to the switches on the InterLink DX.

Frequently-Used Switch Locations
Here are some highlights that seem to be common across models if they support the given function.
Switch A - Move retractable landing gear up or down, or else activate a smoke trail on some models
Switch B - Change flight modes on models that implement Horizon's SAFE trainer or SAFE Select technology
Switch C - Elevator Dual Rates (also called Low Rates)
Switch D - Flaps
Switch F - Aileron Dual Rates
Switch G - Rudder Dual Rates