RF6 - First Impressions

swilson317

I received Real Flight 6 as a Christmas gift as my fiancé knew that I was interested in getting into flying helis. I have already sent a few emails to support, but now realize that I was sending to Great Planes support rather than support specifically for RF6. Maybe that's why I haven't received any replies! :)

I've never used an RC Flight Simulator before, so I can't compare it to others. I haven't even flown MS Flight Simulator in years. I'm not a gamer. I'm into gliders and am slowly getting back into the hobby. But I'm really interested in RC Helicopters and the unique challenge they afford. After reading many articles and posts, a flight simulator seemed to make a lot of sense and would pay for itself in avoiding crashes with the real heli.

Here are my first impressions:

Pros

1) Graphics seem very good
2) Lots of airplanes and several fields to choose from (I received RF6 with both expansion packs)
3) The reset/rewind button is very handy
4) Although I've read that the physics, in some cases, is off, it seems pretty realistic and is still very good

Cons

1) My InterLink controller does not match those advertised. Mine has a ratcheted throttle and the Ch. 6 knob is on the top rather than the face.
2) All of the training videos have audio that has an echo.
3) I've been getting software errors here and there. I need to document and report them.

Features That I Feel Are Missing (my Request for Enhancement (RFE) list)

1) There should be a simple way to pause the program. I haven't found a way to do so.
2) I'd like to be able to sort the aircraft list by type of power plant; i.e., glow plane, electric plane, glow heli, electric heli, and glider. The current OOTB sort options aren't very useful.