Simulator Controllers

Merlin0

I am brand new to this space and would like to use both Evolution and Zephyr Drone Simulator.

Evolution requires Spektrum™ InterLink® DX Simulator Controller.

Zephyr is most compatible with the FlySky FS-i6s controller, but they state most game controllers are supposed to work. Additionally...

Compatible Drone/sUAS Controllers:
  • Hobby King 6-CH RC Flight Simulator Controller
  • Interlink Elite by Futaba
  • Taranis FrSky X9D Plus and other controllers that use OpenTX. Controllers that use OpenTX may require rebinding the inputs inside of the Zephyr program.
I would like just one controller. Is it possible and if so, what would you recommend?

I'm still running RF8, not Evo. And even though I don't have Evo or a DX controller, I'd recommend the DX controller that can be purchased with RF for everything in the simulator. ALL the aircraft in the sim will work with that controller with no messing around. It "just works." I see dozens of "How the heck do I get (this aircraft) to work with (this transmitter)?" questions on the forum. And the USB dongles that link to real-life transmitters are only 8 channels. So in some cases, it's "You don't" unless you use keyboard commands instead of the transmitter for some functions. I have an InterLink Elite and an InterLink-X controller. And when I upgrade to Evo, I'll probably buy the DX with it. IMHO, it's too much of a PITA to try to use anything else. And it saves wear & tear on your expensive transmitter.

RF doesn't require the InterLink DX, but as Bill said, it's by far the easiest to set up with RF because it there's a controller profile already set up for it that will work with everything in the program. Plus, every switch and knob on it really works in RF; it's effectively a 17-channel radio.