Airplane hover - can't stop torque rolling...

circusfreak

I just got the upgrade today and have been playing around with the helis all night. My initial impression of the upgrade is very positive so far. I am a pretty new heli pilot, but it feels to me like the flybarless helis fly closer to my Trex 500 FBL than they did in 4.5.

On the plane side though, I am noticing something strange. For comparison, I tried to fly the Yak 54 3D model which I fly most often in 4.5. For some reason, now I am no longer able to even hover the thing, as it torque rolls like crazy even with full right aileron applied to try to stop the roll. In 4.5 I can hover this bird all day, so I don't know what is going wrong here.

Please let me know if I am missing something. Thanks!

I haven't tried that one yet. It does seem tougher to fly than it was in earlier versions. How does it compare now to flying a real Yak 54 3D model?

I don't have a real Yak, but I usually use that model on 4.5 to practice for my 50cc bird. Everything else about it still feels good, except that it does not want to stop the roll. I used to use about 1/4 to 1/2 aileron on 4.5 to keep it from rolling in a hover, and now it doesn't seem possible at all. I'll try on some other planes today and see if they all are like that for me.

Hovering the Aeroworks bi-plane from Expansion Pack 7 is also much more difficult, but not impossible. Since I've never flown a plane as large as that with that much power, I wouldn't really know what to expect, so I just mention that it's more of a challenge to fly. Stating this, I will point out that you nearly have to max the aileron throws to prevent it from torque rolling in a hover.

Larger models hover easer than smaller ones. A model should Never, ever began to tork untill it is absolutely vertical. A true tork, can allways be stoped with oppisit ails. Very few models will counter rotate useing oppisit ailerons.